Lifestyle · Thoughts

A Little Observation on the Definition of Success

[This is the text I typed up as I prepped for a YouTube video I wanted to film discussing this topic. I basically used this to launch my thoughts & words 🙂 ]

The YouTube Video

What is your definition of success?

I think we all have our noble answers… Free time to do what I want, a good relationship with my family, finding my soul mate, getting married & having kids, retiring young, travelling the world.

Step back and try to define your society’s or culture’s definition of success. What do you feel pressured to do? What do you feel obligated to accomplish for society? For your community (work, school, church, social circles)? For you family? For you parents?

Because I think all of that will point towards what you “actually” consider to be the measure of success. As in subconsciously.

We hardly ever consider our subconscious, becuase just that it’s never brought to our attention. We take on so many cues from our environment (particularly our parents/family) before we can even think about it being valid or not. Which is fair, because you emulate your environment in order to be accepted by your environment, which is very critical when you’re you’re young and vulnerable.

I think it’s important to realize this, because we take so many things to be the truth without thinking about it. It’s part of our environment and we’ve just adopted it all into our subconsicous, and we’re still carrying these beliefs with us.

*~*~*

I’m certainly speaking out my own emotional/personal baggage here. I recently graduated college but feel like a huge disappointment to my family. I’m cetainly not doing what they (especially my dad) want me to do, and I’ve spent so much of my life trying to impress him.

But I really feel that I must forge my own path, and carve my own way. I definitely believe I have a destiny and a calling for something different, and I am going to measure my “success” by my adherence to that.

 

*~*~*

If this sounds familiar, a recent read, You Are a Badass at Making Money by Jen Sincero, discussed this heavily in the beginning. It resonated with me very strongly.

Note: I reserve the right to change my mind & opinion as I get more information and experience. I’d be stupid to believe I’ll never change.

-Brittany

Leave a Reply

