books

What I think about The Secret by Rhonda Byrne

This post is about my “takeways” from the book, The Secret by Rhonda Byrne.

First, I will tell you what “the Secret” is: the Law of Attraction. I guess “The Secret” is Byrne’s hip way of terming this concept.

The Law of Attraction can be identified with the phrases “thoughts become things” and “like attracts like”. Basically, whatever you think you then attract (“manifest”) into your life.

Do I believe in this? Well, I do think that is how things work. Not in the sense that I can close my eyes and make a pink cake appear in front of me by the time I open them.  But I hope we realize how powerful our thoughts are, whether we consider ourselves to be spiritual or not.

Everything we are is a result of what we have thought. We may not be in control of everything that happens in our life, but we are responsible for the narrative we give it. If we think we are victims, then we are. If we think we can change it, and believe in our ability to do so, then we have taken the first step.

Thoughts are the beginning of all our emotions, words, and actions. For anything to happen, we have to have thought about it.

Can we change our life without changing our mindset? Can we change our mindset without changing our thoughts?

Anyways, that’s what I think about the Law of Attraction. I don’t think it matters if you “believe” in it our not, because we are all thinking our lives into being, regardless.

I think the book is a fair introduction on the concept, so I will go on to discuss the book specifically.

TheSecretLogo

Even though I have positive regard for the LoA, I honestly didn’t like this book all that much. It was originally a documentary style film, so the book almost seemed like a transcript of the film. There are chapters on how “the Secret” can be practiced in different areas of your life (money, relationships), and each chapter consists of a bunch of experts sharing their thoughts, maybe a quote from a famous person, and followed by commentary from Rhonda Byrne.

This book is very simple and easy to read. It does have some thought-provoking content, so I’m not saying it will necessarily be a quick read. But its not prolix or complex. It’s meant to be read by as many people as possible.

What I do like about this book is that it is practical, and not vague or “wishy-washy”. It provides structure for understanding how the LoA works, including references to quantum physics and how thoughts have “frequencies”. (If you’re looking for a scientific explanation I guess.)

And it’s not just “think and it shall be”. You think it. You hold the image in your mind (visualization). You meditate on this vision. You make room for the vision in your life. You feel as if this vision is already true and you are thankful for it. The subsequent feelings attract the things that you already feel great about.

The book discusses why each step is important, and practical tips for doing each.

And for the things we have in our life currently that we DON’T WANT, the books talks about “how they got there”: through our own thoughts previous.

I’ve basically summarized what the book does. If you’ve never heard of the Law of Attraction, this book is a great starting point. And even if you’re already familiar with LoA, realize that “The Secret” is what brought LoA to it’s recent popularity. Many of the people consciously practicing the Law of Attraction today were first introduced to it through this book/film. So, you’ll get to see where many people are coming from.

I do recommend this book, because it is a case for the power of our own thinking. I wish it were written differently, but it does the job.

Like I did for my post on “The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle”, I’m going to top up this post with some quotes that I highlighted! 🙂

When you want to change your circumstances, you must first change your thinking.

Visualization is simply powerfully focused thought in pictures, and it causes equally powerful feelings.

Everything you want is an inside job! The outside world is the world of effects; it’s just the result of thoughts.

Energy flows where the attention goes.

The truth is that the Universe has been answering you all of your life, but you cannot receive the answers unless you are aware.

If you focus on the outside and what you see now, you may trip yourself up, because what you see and feel aout you now is the result of what you used to think.

Brittany

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

