Dance

My Universal Studios Audition Experiences

Okay, the title is a little misleading because I was typed-out of all 3 of the auditions I attended. But here is what it’s like to go through the type-cut process. (Type-out means I wasn’t selected based on my body/appearance)

Last Fall I set a goal before myself to attend auditions for Universal Studios, Disney World, and Sea World Orlando. 

Marilyn Monroe Dancers


The first audition was in late April and only called for female dancers in character heels, no information on the body type or dance style. I went with my friend and by the time we got there we realized it was for a Marilyn Monroe show. We pre-registered online and were the first ones to show up, 30 minutes before the appointment time. We signed in, received a sticker with a number on it, and had our photo taken. Then we were given an application where we filled out our basic info (name, height/weight, sizes) and schedule availability. We handed in our headshot and resume along with this application.

After waiting a while in the “waiting area/lobby”, we lined up and walked into a very tiny studio where a panel of people were sitting at a table. For the typecast we just stepped forward and stated our name and where we were from while the panel scanned our application. Then we walked out and a nice lady pulled a group of us aside, thanked us for coming out and encouraged us to come back although they did not want to see anything else from us today. This is where I got separated from my friend as she was allowed to stay for the next segment of the audition and actually dance.

I waited for her outside and at the end of it she said the dance was easy, but the difficult part was picking things up quickly! She didn’t get the part but we were both happy for our experience.

Halloween Horror Nights

img_0551

If you’re not familiar with Halloween Horror Nights at Universal, its one of their biggest events and requires a large, temporary cast of Scareactors. For the most part, they are people that dress up in a scary costume or horror makeup and bring haunted houses to life,  whether that’s being part of a moving set or jumping out and scaring people.

It is 100% a typecast, based on body type (though all body types are welcome)  and availability (I think). I had a couple friends who did HHN previously and loved it, ranting about how easy the typecast is and that everyone makes it. So I was pretty confident about getting cast because I thought: “I have a skinny/athletic body, I can dance, and I have full availability for all the nights.”

img_0550
The check-in and application process was similar to my previous experience, and for the type-out we stepped forward, stated our name, and our favorite candy. Everyone left the room, and the majority of my group (all but two!) were told that we would not be in this show.

I was literally surprised, because I really thought I could be cast. Surely it wasn’t the way I said my name and favorite candy? Or was it the two training days I’d have to miss? I don’t think the roles required speaking, and I was available for other casts that weren’t training on those days. It’s not that I think I’m great, but I certainly thought I was qualified for HHN!

 

Macy’s Parade Performer

img_0644

Although you have to be able to move to be in a parade, this “audition” was another 100% typecast. Something about needing to fit into a uniform from New York?

This audition was held at a dance studio some 20-minutes away from Universal Studios.

I checked-in, got my photo taken, filled out the application (I was totally available for every training and performance date/time), and submitted my headshot/resume.

Same process: lined up in a tiny studio in front of a panel, stepped forward and said my name, said “Happy Birthday!!”, and left.

I would say this audition was based on body and the manner in which we said the Happy Birthday. If they didn’t like how I looked, they definitely hated how I sounded! XD I was not ready to speak, and being the second person didn’t help me prepare one bit.

They didn’t even look at the application, just made their way through the stack and blatantly placed them in “accept” and “reject” piles as each person went, so I knew immediately that I was rejected.

I was pretty upset: rejection is rejection no matter what you learn. But I met my goals of “auditioning” for Universal Studios, so at least I got that.

Does anyone have a different experience from their Universal Studios audition?

Brittany

 

Leave a Reply

