Guard

In a World of my Own- Modern Dance Piece

In my modern class this semester, we had to choreograph a dance based on an emotion and a prop that we drew out of a hat. My group got “Shy” and “Book”, and choreographed this piece!

We made up a plot: shy girl finds confidence in the stories she reads and the characters in the book, but finds comfort in the shyness and sticks with it.

Or something like that! I enjoyed my group because we were very receptive and supportive of each other; I felt free to voice my opinion on what I liked or didn’t like and they truly valued what I had to say. I did the same for them of course, and I’m really pleased with how it turned out!

I’m certainly the least dancey dancer of our group and I could’ve certainly done better personally, but nonetheless I am proud of this piece.

Leave a Reply

