Drum Corps · Guard

My Guard Experience (Color/Winter)

I think I need to introduce where I am in my guard career before I start talking about it! I’m nowhere a “professional” (whatever that is anyway), and neither am I the best in my circle. I guess the only thing I can say is I have a lot of seasons and places on my guard resume.

I first did winter guard at my first high school in Oklahoma, and at 2 other high schools after moving.

  • 3 years of high school winter guard and marching band experience [2009-2012]

When I moved to Florida my junior year, I also marched independent guards, including drum corps.

  • Gainesville Independent 2011 [Open Finalist]
  • Teal Sound 2011 [World Class Drum Corps]
  • Paradigm 2012 [Open Class]

The rest is all after I graduated high school…

  • USFII 2013 [A Finalist]
  • River City Independent 2014 [A Class]
  • Colts 2014 [World Class Drum Corps]
  • UCF Pegasus World 2015 [World Finalist]
  • Colts 2015

And for this current season I am back at UCF Pegasus!

But I also believe in failures and experience, so I should add that I’ve auditioned for Crossmen, Phantom Regiment, Boston Crusaders, Santa Clara Vanguard, and the Cadets. And this list does not include my audition-by-video to a handful of other corps! (However, I was only turned away by about half ofΒ the corpsΒ I’ve tried out for. )

So in summary, I’ve been spinning a lot and for a long time and at a lot of different places. I’m no expert, and I have very little teaching experience, so take what you will! That said, i still have a lot that I can say about this activity that I love, so please allow me to talk about it πŸ™‚

Brittany

Leave a Reply

