Lifestyle

Writing 101 Day 7: Beloved

Write about your beloved, present or future, real or imaginary.

Towards the end of my time in high school, I (along with many others I think) experience a desire to get away from my home and family. To exercise freedom and independence (even though I am still helplessly dependent). So during my first year in college, I avoided going home even though I just lived little more than an hour away. I made myself totally busy on weekends and breaks, coming home just to collect more resources or please my parents who were supporting me.

I still missed my family, of course. But not as much as I did in just my second year of school.

Despite all my ambitions for the future, I craved to be near my family. Maybe not with them all the time (I still enjoyed my space), but at some point I realized that your relationships with other people have a kind of value beyond normal value.

At the end of my life, I’ll want to be with my family. I’ll want more time with my family (the one I grew up with and the one I hopefully create).

A happy family is a viable measure of success. A career can be a measure of success, but in a way isn’t a career just a means to support a family?

I don’t think this is an outdated way to look at things. It’s a novel and fresh and accurate way for me to look at my beloved(s), even though deep inside I knew all along that family is the most important thing.

Brittany

Leave a Reply

